Canoe Goes West

Event News

Also contested the same weekend as the Campi, the Canoe Trophy tournament for junior men was played at Kohimarama Bowling Club.   North Harbour and Counties teams also participated. With no covered green for these bowlers – the players stoically battled the elements with periods of heavy rain. Out came the wet weather gear and the beanies – but the players were undeterred.  Excellent bowling prevailed with some close games. One interesting statistic – after a blind draw – the top four qualifying teams from day one finished the tournament in exactly the same order.

The Auckland Bowling Coaches Association  thank Steven Yates, CEO, Auckland Bowls for being available to present the Trophy and the Plate, and prizes to place getters.

Our thanks to Kohimarama Bowling Club for the use of their facilities and also the many volunteers that helped with making this a very successful weekend;  in particular Jayne Smith and the team in the kitchen for keeping everyone supplied with hot food and drink; and the bar staff for their excellent service; to other club members of KBC for their work behind the scenes. Thanks to Gerard Hulst, Phil Bowden and Marian Hakaraia for their time and expertise as Technical Officials. Thanks also to the many supporters braving the weather to support the teams.

The Auckland Bowling Coaches Association extends a special thanks to the coaches for giving their time and knowledge, and the players for giving their time and skill over the duration of the winter coaching season. Thanks to the bowling clubs who so freely allow access to their greens during the winter.

Results Canoe Trophy
Winners: Malcolm King, Steve Gordon, Paul Chappell Steve Carlin – West

Runners Up: Mark Compton, Paul Neazor, Mukesh Rohra, Trevor Kent – Central

Winners: Roger Johnston, Dean Edge, John Macaulay, Alan Smith –  Eastern Runners Up: John Crow, Steve Ramsay, Graham Ramsey, Bruno Cettina – West

Winners: Mamae Turua, Adam Blucher, Keith Earl, Daryl Mackie – West
Runners Up: Danny Belsham, Roland Lee, Bruce Fenton, Mark Graham

Winners: David Ball, Peter Watson, Anthony Bilocerkowicz, Sherwyn Williams – Eastern
Runners-up: Graham Farley, Kerry Lilley, Allan Smith, Phil Ross – Central