Aucklanders make Black Jacks Squad


Congratulation to the Auckland contingent that have been selected for the Bowls New Zealand High Performance and Talent Development Squads.

Jordan King and Taylor Horn (both Mangere) have been selected for the first time after strong performances at the Summerset Nationals earlier this month. Taylor winning the singles and Jordan the pairs. Royal Oak’s Jamie Hill along with former Auckland player Chris Le Lievre have also earned recalls.

Former Auckland player and Carlton Cornwall member Selina Goddard has earned a recall to the Women’s squad after finishing second in the singles and also performing well in the pairs at the Nationals.

In the talent development squads the performance of Alex Reed and Aiden Takarua through the televised Bowls3Five League has seen them earn selection. They will be joined by Auckland representative Rory Soden.

Carlton Cornwall’s Kimberley Hemingway and Ashleigh Jeffcoat have been selected along with Leeane Poulson who plays some of her bowls out of the St Heliers Club.

High performance squad:
Women – Tayla Bruce (Burnside), Jo Edwards (United & Pine Rivers), Kirsten Edwards (Stoke), Selina Goddard (Carlton Cornwall), Katelyn Inch (Oxford & Broadbeach), Wendy Jensen (Orewa), Lisa Prideaux (Merrylands), Sarah Scott (Te Rangi) and Val Smith (United & Merrylands)
Men – Seamus Curtin (Stokes Valley), Ali Forsyth (Nelson & Clayton), Jamie Hill (Eastbourne & Onehunga), Taylor Horn (Mangere), Andrew Kelly (Canterbury), Mike Kernaghan (North East Valley), Jordan King (Mangere), Gary Lawson (Eastbourne), Chris Le Lievre (Musgrave Hill) and Shannon McIlroy (Stoke)

Talent development squad:
Women – Cait Bassett (Burnside), Kimberley Hemingway (Hillcrest & Carlton Cornwall), Clare Hendra (Silverstream), Tessa Hocking (Burnside), Ashleigh Jeffcoat (Frankton Railway), Leeane Poulson (Papakura), Natasha Russell (Merrylands), Bronwyn Stevens (Te Rangi), Nicole Toomey (Victoria) and Debbie White (Hinuera)
Men – Sheldon Bagrie-Howley (Gore), Keanu Darby (North East Valley), Bradley Down (Victoria), Tony Grantham (Browns Bay), Richard Hocking (Burnside), Caleb Hope (Gore), Ray Martin (Victoria), Finbar McGuigan (Stokes Valley), Daryl Read (Belmont Park), Alex Reed (Point Chevalier), Blake Signal (Stokes Valley & Nelson Bay), Rory Soden (Browns Bay), Aiden Takarua (Point Chevalier) and Mark Watt (Nelson Bay).