Awards Success

Auckland Bowls News, Event News, Featured, News

Congratulations to all the award winners at the Auckland Bowls Awards Function held yesterday at Royal Oak Bowls.  An excellent turnout of close to 200 very vocal and happy players and supporters created a great atmosphere.  Photos can be found on the Auckland Bowls Facebook page.

Along with all the tournament winners there were a number of special awards handed out to very deserving people.

Auckland Bowler of the Year

The Auckland Bowler of the year has been held since 1977 and this season we had joint winners.  Congratulations to:

Mike Galloway and Martin Dixon (Royal Oak Bowls)

Their list of successes includes – Winner Club Championship Pairs; Runner-up Club Championship Triples; Winner Club Championship Fours; Runner-up Auckland Pairs; Winner NZ Open Pairs.

Young Bowler of the Year

Mackenzie Blucher – Te Atatu Peninsula Bowling Club

Mackenzie was runner-up at Kittyhawks National Under 21 Singles, a member of the Auckland 1-8 Rep team – Winners of the National Under 8 title, Member of the Te Atatu National Interclub Side – Winner of the Auckland Division One National Interclub Title. Mackenzie prepares well for her major events and is a good role model for younger bowlers, with her positivity and great attitude showing through, all this while studying fulltime for a double degree. Mackenzie is also passing on her knowledge to younger brother Adam, helping to develop him into a promising young bowler.

Club of the Year

The factors considered for this award: the board/committee structure and practices, practical application of good management techniques, sound planning, alignment of a formal and published strategic direction and commitment through application of resources to those areas. Also input to and alignment with coaching, umpiring and youth development objectives, and to the promotion of green keeping. The clubs commitment to growing membership and supporting initiatives such as social/business house bowls.  Congratulations to:

St Heliers Bowling Club

Interclub Club of the Year

Interclub club of the year criteria is based on results across all Interclub events relative to number of teams entered and the numbers of members in the club. Congratulations to:

Mangere Bowling Club

Administrator of the Year

Graeme Clisby – Epsom Bowls

Graeme has not only been the Director Treasurer of Epsom Bowls for 17 years he is well liked and a consistent loyal stalwart of Epsom Bowls. His diligent stewardship and careful governance of the clubs financial affairs is exceptional. Graeme gets on and manages the day to day running of the club on a voluntary basis and assists with all club events and competitions to ensure they are carried out with a high degree of professionalism. Graeme is held in high regard by all members who greatly appreciate everything he does to make them welcome.

Personality of the Year

Ian McKenna – Pt Chevalier Bowling Club

Ian provides support and encouragement to all members and can always be found on the sidelines championing Pt Chevaliers Bowlers. Ian is dedicated to the sport and in particular the junior players. He is supportive and a hugely positive influence. He has a fantastic sense of humour, which helps members feel welcome and at ease.

Official of the Year

Nancye Hardiman – Glendowie Bowling Club

Nancye has been an umpire for many years and has served Auckland Bowls and the Umpires Association very well in those years. Nancye is now at a point where she is unable to carry out the on green measuring required of an umpire but still has a sharp and agile mind, Nancye still operates as an event convenor for many of the Auckland events and does not hesitate to travel to a headquarters club anywhere. Nancye carries out her duties as a convenor with care and dedication. Nancye has also got the respect off all the umpires she works with during these events.

Volunteer of the Year

Allen Lockie – Carlton Cornwall Bowls

Allen is a new recruit to Carlton, he arrives in the dark before tournaments, club events and functions, has a quick chat to our greenkeeper to see where he can help, and effortlessly gets on with the job that needs to be done in rain, hail, and wind or blistering heat. You do not need to ask him to help; he is a man who will ask you. He would stay all day at the club to carry out those little jobs, work that quite often goes unseen. For a new member, that is just a third year bowler Allen has a great attitude he is good willed and generous. For someone like to Allen to give one of the most precious things – his time, the club is grateful to have him.

Coach of the Year

Catherine Bien – St Heliers Bowling Club

Catherine led the Eastern Zone winter coaching programme which was attended by Juniors from the Eastern Zone, and some North Harbour Junior reps, leading our Club Coaches and two coaches from other clubs. Catherine mentors and trains the many keen juniors in our club and encourages them to participate in club, Centre, National and Open events.  Catherine often plays alongside junior players enabling them to play at a higher level. Her coaching of junior members has resulted in 7 members and 3 associate members being selected into the 1-5 rep teams and 2 into the 1-8 rep teams. Several of Catherine’s junior students have had excellent results in Junior and Open Centre Events.

Team of the Year

Auckland Under 8’s Women’s Side: Singles: Ling Qu, Pairs: Judy Raill (s), Jenny Stockford, Fours: Lesley McLinden (s), Claire Tawharu, Gail Clark, Mackenzie Blucher

Coach: Diana Smith  Manager: Deborah Garside.